Death Valley Radio

Death Valley Radio is a format-free program for the musically curious.

In this age of bland radio programming (both commercial and non-) and automated music services, DVR is still built by hand, non-algorithmically — one set at a time.

Each two-hour edition of Death Valley Radio airs at on Tuesdays at 7:00 PM ET.

Death Valley Radio can also be heard at on Saturdays at 10:00 PM ET and Wednesdays at 10:00 AM ET.

DVR program 888 features Merle Haggard, who died on April 6 at age 79; Woody Guthrie's best Donald Trump impersonation; Ira Louvin's apocalyptic warnings by way of Buddy Miller and Uncle Tupelo; Bill Frisell's new arrangement of the main theme from Elmer Bernstein's score to the film adaptation of Harper Lee's 1960 novel To Kill a Mockingbird; some virtuosic whistling from Andrew Bird and Clem Snide; David Lang's sensual adaptation of the Old Testament's Song of Songs; cellist Maya Beiser's rendition of a piece written by Brazilian percussionist Naná Vasconcelos, who died on March 9 at age 71; and new music from the Welsh sextet 9Bach, Leyla McCalla, Sam Beam and Jesca Hoop, Lucinda Williams, and film composer Hanan Townshend.

Death Valley Radio is dedicated to the memory of my wife Valerie.

© 1998-2016 Ron Alden / Website Created: 08 May 1998 / Last Updated: 26 April 2016
"Cry Yourself to Sleep" © 2005-2016 Jeremy Tinder. Published by Top Shelf Productions.